

———— Scholarships

The U.S. Department of Energy's objectives for its Nuclear Energy University Programs (NEUP) include bolstering the number of students earning degrees in nuclear science and engineering and related fields.

To accomplish this, NEUP awards 1-year, \$5,000 scholarships to undergraduate students at U.S. universities and colleges.

## Applicants must:

- Be a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident
- Be at least a freshman in college when applying
- Attend a NEUP-designated college or university
- Be earning a bachelor's degree in a nuclear energy-related discipline
- · Have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.

## Applicants must provide:

- College transcripts
- A personal statement describing their career goals
- A program eligibility essay
- Three letters of reference
- · ACT/SAT scores.

Since FY09, DOE has awarded 200 undergraduate scholarships to students from 29 U.S. universities and colleges.



In FY 2012, scholarships were awarded to students at the following universities:

- · Francis Marion University
- Georgia Institute of Technology
- Idaho State University
- Missouri University of Science & Technology
- North Carolina State University
- Oregon State University
- Pennsylvania State University
- Purdue University
- Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
- Texas A&M University
- University of Florida
- University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
- University of Michigan
- University of New Mexico
- University of Tennessee
- · University of Utah
- Utah State University
- Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University