SharePoint

Skip Navigation LinksFY21_RD_Technical _Program_Contacts

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​2021 R&D Federal/Technical Points of Contact*




*FY21 POCs may not be the same as previous years, as workscopes change year-to-year. POCs for current projects are listed on each project's quarterly report.
​​
Technical Bins & Workscopes Federal POC Technical POC
Fuel Cycle Technologies
Program Supporting
FC-1- Material Recovery and Waste Form Development
FC-1.1- Innovative Separations Chemistry for High Value Used Fuels

Christina Leggett
(301) 903-3962
christina.leggett@nuclear.energy.gov
Terry Todd
(208) 526-3365
terry.todd@inl.gov
FC-1.2- Nuclear Fuel Cycle Separations Chemistry
Christina Leggett
(301) 903-3962

christina.leggett@nuclear.energy.gov
Terry Todd
(630) 252-9627
terry.todd@inl.gov
FC-1.3 - Understanding, Predicting, and Optimizing the Physical Properties, Structure, and Dynamics of Molten Salts
Christina Leggett
(301) 903-3962
christina.leggett@nuclear.energy.gov
Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627​
williamson@anl.gov
FC-1.4- Understanding the Structure and Speciation of Molten Salt at the Atomic and Molecular Scale

Christina Leggett
(301) 903-3962
christina.leggett@nuclear.energy.gov
Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627​
williamson@anl.gov
FC-1.5- Advanced Salt Waste Forms
Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimber​ly.gray@hq.doe.gov
William Ebert
(630) 252-6103​
ebert@anl.gov
FC-2- Advanced Fuels
FC-2.1- Fuel-To-Coolant Thermomechanical Transport Behaviors Under Transient Conditions

Frank Goldner
(301) 903-3346
frank.goldner@nuclear.energy.gov
Colby Jensen
(208) 526-4294
colby.jensen@inl.gov
FC-2.2- High Burnup LWR Fuel Rod Behavior Under Normal and Transient Conditions

Frank Goldner
(301) 903-3346
frank.goldner@nuclear.energy.gov
Nathan Capps
(479) 719-3064
cappsna@ornl.gov
​FC-3- Materials Protection, Accounting and Control Technology
 

Mike Reim
(202) 586-2981
michael.reim@nuclear.energy.gov
Mike Browne
(505) 500-2936
mcbrowne@lanl.gov​
FC-4- Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition
FC-4.1 - Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition: Disposal
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
David Sassani
(505) 917-3765
dsassan@sandia.gov
FC-4.2 - Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition: Storage & Transportation
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
David Sassani
(505) 917-3765
dsassan@sandia.gov
Nuclear Reactor Technologies
Program Supporting
RC-1- Advanced Reactor Materials
​RC-1.1- Development of Qualification/Acceptance Protocols for Additively Manufactured Metallic Components Under Elevated Temperature Cyclic Service
Sue Lesica
(301) 903-8755
sue.lesica@nuclear.energy.gov
Sam Sham
(630) 252-7873
ssham@anl.gov
RC-1.2- Effects of Irradiation Induced Microstructure Change in Graphite
Sue Lesica
(301) 903-8755
sue.lesica@nuclear.energy.gov
Will Windes
(208) 526-6985
william.windes@inl.gov
​RC-2- Microreactor Cost Reduction and End-User Application Integration
Thomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov
Jess Gehin
(208) 526-3486
jess.gehin@inl.gov
​RC-3- Liquid Metal-Cooled Fast Reactor Technology Development and Demonstration to Support Deployment
Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
​brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
Chris Grandy
(630) 252-9135
cgrandy@anl.gov
RC-4- High Temperature Gas Reactors (HTGRs)​
RC-4.1- Heat Transfer Characterization in Horizontally Orientated Micro High Temperature Gas Reactors (HTGRs) Under Pressurized Conduction Cooldown (PCC) Conditions
Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Gerhard Strydom
(208) 526-1216
gerhard.strydom@inl.gov
RC-4.2- High Temperature Gas Reactor Fission Product Source Term
Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Paul Demkowicz
208) 526-3846
paul.demkowicz@inl.gov
RC-5- Pump Scaling Technology for Molten Salt Reactors
Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
​brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
​RC-6- Plant Modernization R&D Pathway: Improving Automation Use in Nuclear Power Plants Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
​RC-7- Risk-Informed Systems Analysis R&D Pathway: Extention of Legacy PRA Tools to Accelerate Risk-Informed Application for LWRS
Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Curtis Smith
(208) 526-9804
curtis.smith@inl.gov
​RC-8- Materials Research Pathway: Characterization and Modeling of the High Fluence Effect on Reactor Pressure Vessel Steels
Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Tom Rosseel
(865) 574-5380
rosseeltm@ornl.gov
RC-9- Flexibly Plant Operation and Generation Pathway: Development of Thermal and Electric Power Dispatch Simulation Tools
Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Tyler Westover
(208) 526-1553
tyler.westover@inl.gov
​RC-10- Physical Security Pathway: Evaluation of Physical Phenomena Data Impact and Improvements​
Won Yoon
(301) 903-5634
won.yoon@nuclear.energy.gov
Doug Osborn
(505) 844-1127
dosborn@sandia.gov
RC-11- Advanced Small Modular Reactor R&D
Rebecca Onuschak
(301) 903-0023
rebecca.onuschak@nuclear.energy.gov
Dan Ingersoll
(541) 360-0585
dingersoll3@comcast.net
​​Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation (NEAMS)
NEAMS-1- Advancing Material Modeling in System Analysis Module (SAM) Code
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991​
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Rui Hu
(630) 252-1461
rhu@anl.gov
NEAMS-2- Corrosion Modeling or Molten-Salt-Facing Structural Components
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Chris Stanek
(505) 500-2685
stanek@lanl.gov
NEAMS-3- Next Generation, High-Fidelity Pebble-Bed Simulation
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Javier Ortensi
(208) 526-4256
javier.ortensi@inl.gov
NEAMS-4- Fundamentals of Multiphase Boiling Flow for High-Pressure, High-Void Conditions
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Rui Hu
(630) 252-1461
rhu@anl.gov
NEAMS-5- Time-Dependent Monte Carlo Simulation Capability Development
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Matt Jessee
(865) 241-1503
jesseema@ornl.gov
 Crosscutting Technologies
Program Supporting
CT-1- Crosscutting Research-Cyber Security Research
Rebecca Onuschak
(301) 903-0023
rebecca.onuschak@nuclear.energy.gov
Lon Dawson
(505) 270-7308
ladawso@sandia.gov
CT-2- Integrated Energy Systems Design and Modeling
Rebecca Onuschak
(301) 903-0023
rebecca.onuschak@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
CT-3- Tranformational Challenge Reactor R&D​
CT-3.1- Integrated Thermofluidic Experimentation and Modeling for TCR Core Components
Dirk Cairns-Gallimore
(202) 360-3347
dirk.cairns-gallimore@nuclear.energy.gov
Kurt Terrani
(480) 277-3224
terranika@ornl.gov
CT-3.2- Integrated Thermofluidic Experimentation and Modeling for TCR Core Components
Dirk Cairns-Gallimore
(202) 360-3347
dirk.cairns-gallimore@nuclear.energy.gov
Kurt Terrani
(480) 277-3224
terranika@ornl.gov
​CT-4- Advanced and Small Modular Reactor Materials Accountancy and Physical Protection
Won Yoon
(301) 903-5634
won.yoon@nuclear.energy.gov
Ben Cipiti
(505) 284-8757
bbcipit@sandia.gov
​CT-5- Nuclear Materials Discovery and Qualification Initiative R&D
Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789​
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Allen Roach
(208) 526-1824
robert.roach@inl.gov
Mission Supporting: Nuclear Energy
MS-NE-1- Integral Benchmark Evaluations
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
John Bess
(208) 526-4375
john.b​ess@inl.gov
MS-NE-2- Nuclear Data Needs for Nuclear Energy Applications
Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Matt Jessee
(865) 241-1503
jesseema@ornl.gov​​
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Enabling Technologies (NEET)
NEET-1- Advanced Methods for ManufacturingDirk Cairns-Gallimore
(202) 360-3347
dirk.cairns-gallimore@nuclear.energy.gov
Isabella Van Rooyen
208-526-4199
isabella.vanrooyen@inl.gov
NEET-2- Wireless Technology for Nuclear Instrumentation and Control Systems
Melissa Bates
(202) 281-8910
melissa.bates@nuclear.energy.gov
Pattrick Calderoni
(208) 526-3492
pattrick.calderoni@inl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF)
NSUF-1- Nuclear Energy-Related R&D Supported by Nuclear Science User Facilities Capabilities
NSUF-1.1- Testing of Advanced Materials for Sensors and Advanced Sensors for Nuclear ApplicationsMelissa Bates
(202) 281-8910
melissa.bates@nuclear.energy.gov
Brenden Heidrich
(208) 526-8117
brenden.heidrich@inl.gov
 NSUF-1.2- Irradiation Testing of Materials Produced by Innovative Manufacturing Techniques Dirk Cairn​s-Gallimore
(202) 360-3347
dirk.cairns-gallimore@nuclear.energy.gov
Isabella Van Rooyen
208-526-4199
isabella.vanrooyen@inl.gov
NSUF-2- Nuclear Science User Facilities Access Only
NSUF-2.1- Core and Structural MaterialsTansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.2- HIgh Performance Computing at Idaho National Laboratory (Limited to 3 Years)
Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
​​​​​​​


​​