

Scholarships

he Office of Nuclear Energy's Integrated University Program (IUP) funds undergraduate scholarships as part of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) ongoing commitment to educating the next generation of nuclear scientists and engineers. Scholars receive a 1-year, \$7,500 award to pursue their undergraduate degrees at U.S. universities and colleges. Students can apply in subsequent years.

Applicants must be:

- U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents
- At least a sophomore in college when the award begins
- Enrolled in an IUP-accepted college or university
- Studying nuclear science or engineering, or a related field
- A student with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher

Applicants must provide:

- A Personal Career Goals essay identifying the applicant's long-term career goals and how those goals align to the DOE-NE mission
- Three reference letters
- Official college transcripts
- Standardized test scores (e.g., ACT, SAT, and Compass)

Since FY 2009, DOE has awarded 496 undergraduate scholarships to students from 61 U.S. universities and colleges.



IN FY 2019, students at the following universities were awarded IUP Scholarships:

Abilene Christian University The Citadel

Auburn University The Ohio State University

Boise State University Thomas Edison State University

Brigham Young University University of Colorado, Boulder

Florida International University University of Florida

Georgia Institute of Technology University of Idaho

Kansas State University University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Kennesaw State University University of Michigan

Montana State University University of Nevada, Las Vegas

North Carolina State University University of New Mexico

Oregon State University University of Pittsburgh

Pennsylvania State University University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Virginia Commonwealth University

