Skip Navigation LinksFY19_RD_Technical_Program_Contacts

2019 R&D Federal/Technical Points of Contact*




*FY19 POCs may not be the same as previous years as workscopes change year-to-year. POCs for current projects are listed on each project's quarterly report.
​​
Technical Bins & Workscopes Federal POC Technical POC
Fuel Cycle Technologies
Program Supporting
FC-1- Materials Recovery and Waste Form Development
FC-1.1- Electrochemical Separations
Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627
williamson@anl.gov
FC-1.2- Materials RecoveryDan Vega
(202) 586--235
daniel.vega@nuclear.energy.gov
Terry Todd
(208) 526-3365
terry.todd@inl.gov
FC-1- Waste Forms Development and Off-Gas Capture
FC-1.3A- Advanced Waste Form Design, Processing, and Testing Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimberly.gray@hq.doe.gov
John Vienna
(509) 372-6201
john.vienna@pnnl.gov
FC-1.3B- Iodine Capture From Highly Oxidixing Off-Gas Streams Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimberly.gray@hq.doe.gov
John Vienna
(509) 372-6201
john.vienna@pnnl.gov
FC-2- Advanced Fuels
FC-2.1- Post Irradiation Examination (PIE)/Non-Destructive Examination (NDE) Techniques for Corrosion Thickness Measurements on ATF Claddigs (Coated-Zr, FeCrAl, SiC)
Frank Goldner
(301) 903-3346
frank.goldner@nuclear.energy.gov
 
 Jason Harp
(505) 533-7342
jason.harp@inl.gov
FC-2.2- Studies on Accident Tolerant Control Rods and Core Components
Frank Goldner
(301) 903-3346
frank.goldner@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Michael Todosow
(631) 344-2445
todosowm@bnl.gov
FC-2.3- Investigations into Non-Traditional Solid Fuels for Advanced non-Light Water Reactors
Janelle Eddins
(301) 903-2475
janelle.eddins@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Andy Nelson
(865) 241-7330
nelsonat@ornl.gov
FC-2.4- Advanced Creep Testing of Ferritic Steels for Reactor Cladding Applications
Janelle Eddins
(301) 903-2475
janelle.eddins@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Stu Maloy
(505) 667-9784
maloy@lanl.gov
FC-3- Advanced Data Integration for Domestic Nuclear Safeguards 

Mike Reim
(202) 586-2981
mike.reim@nuclear.energy.gov
Mike Browne
(505) 500-2936
mcbrowne@lanl.gov​
FC-4- Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition
FC-4.1 - Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition: Disposal
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
Peter Swift
(505) 284-4817
pnswift@sandia.gov
FC-4.2 - Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition: Storage and Transportation
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
Peter Swift
(505) 284-4817
pnswift@sandia.gov
FC-5- Fabrication Process Assessments for Cost Algorithm

BP Singh
(301) 903-3741
mike.reim@nuclear.energy.gov
Francesco Ganda
(630) 252-3095
fganda@anl.gov​
FC-6- Interface Tools for Transutation Data Library

BP Singh
(301) 903-3741
mike.reim@nuclear.energy.gov
Michael Todosow
(631) 344-2445
todosowm@bnl.gov
Mission Supporting
MS-FC-1- Maintaining and Buliding Upon the Halden Legacy (In-Situ Diagnostics)Ken Kellar
(301) 903-9420
kenneth.kellar@nuclear.energy.gov
Colby Jensen
(208) 526-4294
colby.jensen@inl.gov
Nuclear Reactor Technologies
Program Supporting
RC-1- Innovative New Nickel Alloys for Molten Salt Reactor Structural Applications
Sue Lesica
(301) 903-8755
sue.lesica@nuclear.energy.gov
Sam Sham
(630) 252-7873
ssham@anl.gov
RC-2- Salt Behavior in Molten Salt Reactors
RC-2.1- Understanding, Predicting, and Optimizig the Physical Properties, Structure, and Dynamics of Molten Salt

Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov

David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-2.2- Understanding the Strucutre and Speciation of Molten Salt at the Atomic and Molecular Scale Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-3- Liquid Metal-Cooled Fast Reactor Technology Development and Demonstration to Support Deployment Thomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov
Bob Hill
(630) 252-4865
bobhill@anl.gov
RC-4- HTGR TRISO Fuel Particle Materials
RC-4.1- Thermomechanical Properties of TRISO Fuel Coating Layers Madeline Feltus
(301) 903-2308
madeline.feltus@nuclear.energy.gov
Paul Demkowicz
(208) 526-3846
paul.demkowica@inl.gov
RC-4.2- Effect of Neutron Irradiation on Fission Product Transport Through TRISO Particle Silicon Carbinde Coating Layer Madeline Feltus
(301) 903-2308
madeline.feltus@nuclear.energy.gov
Paul Demkowicz
(208) 526-3846
paul.demkowica@inl.gov
RC-5- Experimental Validation of High Temperature Gas Reactor (HTGR)
Diana Li
 (301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Hans Gougar
(208) 526-1314
hans.gougar@inl.gov
RC-6- Fluoride Salt-Cooled High Temperature Reactor (FHR)
RC-6.1- Used FHR Pebble Fuel Storage and Handling Diana Li
 (301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-6.2- Experimental Validation of Passive Decay Heat Removal Technology Diana Li
 (301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-7- Molten Salt Reactor Technologies
RC-7.1- Fuel Salt Sampling Technology Development Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-7.2- Evaluation of 316SS Lifetime in MSRs Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-7.3- Radiation Hardened Vision Systems Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-7.4- Molten Salt Mechanical Filters Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-7.5- Shut Off Valve Technology Development Brian Robinson
(301) 903-5694
brian.robinson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-8- Plant Modernization R&D Pathway
RC-8.1- Digital Instrumentation and Control qualificationAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
RC-8.2- Analytics to Support Equpment Condition Monitoring Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
RC-9- Risk-Informed Systems Analysis R&D Pathway
RC-9.1- Use of Integrated PRA and Mechanistic Tools to Accelerate Deployment of Advanced Technologies to LWRsAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
 Ronaldo Szilard
(208) 526-8376
ronaldo.szilard.gov
RC-9.2- Risk-Informed Asset Life Cycle Management and Maintenance Optimization Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Ronaldo Szilard
(208) 526-8376
ronaldo.szilard.gov
RC-10- Materials Research Pathway
RC-10.1- Rapid, Milti-Modal Characterization of Concrete's Degradation Tolerance in Support of Second License Renewals of Nuclare Power Plants Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
 Keith Leonard
(865) 576-3687
leonardk@ornl.gov
RC-10.2- Modeling of Helium Bubble Development During Welding of Irradiated Metal Alloys Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Keith Leonard
(865) 576-3687
leonardk@ornl.gov
Mission Supporting
MS-RC-1- Special Purpose Reactors R&D Rebecca Onuschak
(301) 903-0023
rebecca.onuschak@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation (NEAMS)
NEAMS-2- Separate Effects Irradiation Testing for Validation of Microstructural Models in Marmot Dave Henderson
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Rich Williamson
(208) 526-0576
richard.williamson@inl.gov
Nuclear Energy
 Program Supporting
NE-1- Nuclear Energy-Cybersecurity Research Topics and Metrics Analyses Trevor Cook
(301) 903-7046
trevor.cook@nuclear.energy.gov
Steven Hartenstein
(208) 526-1967
steven.hartenstein@inl.gov
NE-2- Hybrid Energy Systems Design and Modeling
NE-2.1- studies of Component/System DegradationMartha Shields
(301) 903-8098
martha.shields@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
NE-2.2- Cyber-Informed System Design Martha Shields
(301) 903-8098
martha.shields@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
NE-2.3- Systems ControlMartha Shields
(301) 903-8098
martha.shields@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
Mission Supporting
MS-NE-1- Integral Benchmarking Evaluations Dave Henderson
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
John Bess
(208) 526-4375
john.bess@inl.gov
MS-NE-2- Nuclear Data Needs for Nuclear Energy Applications Dave Henderson
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Brad Rearden
(865) 574-6085
reardenb@ornl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Enabling Technologies (NEET)
NEET-1- Advanced Methods for ManufacturingTensel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tensel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Landrey
(503) 715-7900
brucel@landreyco.com
NEET-2- Advanced Digital Monitoring and Control Technology
 NEET-2.1- State of the Art I&C TechnolgoiesSuibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
 NEET-2.2- Advanced Online Monitoring and Disgnostics TechnologiesSuibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
NEET-2.3- Advanced Sensors and Communication Suibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
NEET-3- Digital/Electronic Nuclear Field Support Techology Suibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF)
NSUF-1- Nuclear Energy-Related R&D Supported by Nuclear Science User Facilities Capabilities
NSUF-1.1- Testing of Advanced Materials or Advanced Sensors for Nuclear ApplicationsSuibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Brenden Heidrich
(208) 526-8117
brenden.heidrich@inl.gov
​NSUF-1.2- Irradiation Testing of Materials Produced by Innovative Manufacturing Techniques Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Landrey
(503) 715-7900
brucel@landreyco.com
NSUF-2-Nuclear Science User Facilities Access Only
NSUF-2.1- Core and Structural MaterialsTansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.2- Nuclear Fuel Behavior and Advanced Nuclear Fuel Development Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.3- Advanced In-Reactor Instrumentation Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
​​​​​​


​​