Skip Navigation LinksFY20_RD_Technical_Program_Contacts

2020 R&D Federal/Technical Points of Contact*




*FY20 POCs may not be the same as previous years as workscopes change year-to-year. POCs for current projects are listed on each project's quarterly report.
​​
Technical Bins & Workscopes Federal POC Technical POC
Fuel Cycle Technologies
Program Supporting
FC-1- Materials Recovery and Waste Form Development
FC-1.1- Nuclear Fuel Cycle Chemistry

Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
Terry Todd
(208) 526-3365
terry.todd@inl.gov
FC-1.2- Electrochemcial Separations
Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627
williamson@anl.gov
FC-1.3- Waste Forms Development and Off-Gas Capture
FC-1.3A- Waste Forms Development and Off-Gas Capture: Iodine Immobilization from Caustic Scrubber Solution
Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimberly.gray@hq.doe.gov
Bob Jubin
(865) 574-4934
jubinrt@ornl.gov
FC-1.3B- Waste Forms Development and Off-Gas Capture: Salt Waste Recycle and Immobilization

Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimberly.gray@hq.doe.gov
John Vienna
(509) 372-6201
john.vienna@pnnl.gov
FC-2- Advanced Fuels
FC-2.1- NDE Techniques for Assessing Integrity of Coated Cladding Tubes

Frank Goldner
(301) 903-3346
frank.goldner@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Tarik Saleh
(505) 695-8871
tsaleh@lanl.gov
FC-2.2- Investigations of Carbide and Nitride Fuel Systems for Advanced Fast Reactors

Janelle Eddins
(301) 903-2475
janelle.eddins@nuclear.energy.gov 
Andy Nelson
(865) 241-7330
nelsonat@ornl.gov
FC-2.3- High-throughput and/or Micro-scale Post-irradiation Examination Techniques to Support Accelerated Fuel Testing

Ken Kellar
(301) 903-9420
kenneth.kellar@hq.doe.gov
Luca Capriotti
(208) 533-7080
luca.capriotti@inl.gov
FC-2.4- Maintaining and Building upon the Halden Legacy of In Situ Diagnostics

Ken Kellar
(301) 903-9420
kenneth.kellar@hq.doe.gov
Colby Jensen
(208) 526-4294
colby.jensen@inl.gov
FC-2.5- NSUF Separate Effects Testing in TREAT using Standard Test Capsules 

Ken Kellar
(301) 903-9420
kenneth.kellar@hq.doe.gov
Dan Wachs
(208) 526-6393
daniel.wachs@inl.gov
FC-3- Materials Protection, Accounting and Control Technology
 

Mike Reim
(202) 586-2981
michael.reim@nuclear.energy.gov
Mike Browne
(505) 500-2936
mcbrowne@lanl.gov​
FC-4- Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition
FC-4.1 - Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition: Disposal
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
Peter Swift
(505) 284-4817
pnswift@sandia.gov
FC-4.2 - Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition: Storage & Transportation
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
Peter Swift
(505) 284-4817
pnswift@sandia.gov
MS-FC-1- Understanding, Predicting, and Optimizing the Physical Properties, Structure, and Dynamics of Molten Salt

Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov

Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627
williamson@anl.gov
MS-FC-2- Understanding the Structure and Speciation of Molten Salt at the Atomic and Molecular Scale Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627
williamson@anl.gov
Nuclear Reactor Technologies
Program Supporting
RC-1- Innovative New Structural Materials for Molten Chloride Salt Fast Reactor Applications
Sue Lesica
(301) 903-8755
sue.lesica@nuclear.energy.gov
Sam Sham
(630) 252-7873
ssham@anl.gov
RC-2- Micro-reactor Technology Development and Support for Deployment
RC-2.1- Micro-reactor Deployment Markets

Thomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov

Jess Gehin
(208) 526-3486
jess.gehin@inl.gov
RC-2.2- Validation of Micro-reactor Modeling and Simulation Tools
Thomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov
Jess Gehin
(208) 526-3486
jess.gehin@inl.gov
RC-2.3- Micro-reactor Technology Development and MaturationThomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov
Jess Gehin
(208) 526-3486
jess.gehin@inl.gov
RC-3- Liquid Metal-Cooled Fast Reactor Technology Development and Demonstration to Support Deployment Thomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov
Chris Grandy
(630) 252-9135
cgrandy@anl.gov
RC-4- HTGR TRISO Fuel Particle Materials
RC-4.1- TRISO Fuel Buffer Layer Behavior During Neutron Irradiation
Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Paul Demkowicz
208) 526-3846
paul.demkowicz@inl.gov
RC-4.2- Robust Individual TRISO-Fueled Pebble Identification Method for Ex-Core EvaluationDiana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Paul Demkowicz
208) 526-3846
paul.demkowicz@inl.gov
RC-5- Experimental Validation of High Temperature Gas Reactor (HTGR) Simulations
Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Gerhard Strydom
(208) 526-1216
gerhard.strydom@inl.gov
RC-6- Fluoride Salt-Cooled High Temperature Reactor (FHR)
RC-6.1- Optimized Fluoride Salt Pipe Joints for Fluoride Salt-cooled High Temperature Reactors Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-6.2- Pump Scaling Technology for Fluoride Salt-cooled High Temperature Reactors
Diana Li
 (301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-7- Plant Modernization Pathway
RC-7.1- Digital Instrumentation and ControlAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
RC-7.2- Virtualized Distributed Control Systems for Nuclear Power PlantsAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
RC-7.3- Reducing Human Factor Uncertainty Using Artificial Intelligence in Operation and Maintenance of Nuclear Power PlantsAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
RC-8- Evaluation of Physical Phenomena Data Impact and ImprovementsAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Curtis Smith
(208) 526-9804
curtis.smith@inl.gov
RC-9- Elucidating how the water chemistry affects the corrosion sensitivity of pristine stainless steel in nuclear power plantsAlison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Xiang (Frank) Chen
(865) 574-5058
chenx2@ornl.gov
RC-10- Advanced Small Modular Reactor R&D
RC-10.1- Technologies to Support SMR Development and Commercialization
Tim Beville
(301) 903-8251
timothy.beville@nuclear.energy.gov
TBD
RC-10.2- SMR Market Analyses
Tim Beville
(301) 903-8251
timothy.beville@nuclear.energy.gov
TBD
RC-10.3- SMR Economic Analyses
Tim Beville
(301) 903-8251
timothy.beville@nuclear.energy.gov
TBD
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation (NEAMS)
NEAMS-1- Development of Generalized Multigroup Cross Sections for Arbitrary Reactor Geometries Dave Henderson
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Kropaczek
(865) 576-5093
kropaczekdj@ornl.gov
NEAMS-2- Near-Wall Gas-Flow Correlations in Pebble Bed Reactors Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Rich Martineau
(208) 526-2938
richard.martineau@inl.gov
NEAMS-3- Molten Salt Chemistry Modeling Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
David Andersson
(505) 665-8621
andersson@lanl.gov
MS-NEAMS-1- SAM Baseline Development Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Tanju Sofu
(630) 252-9673
tsofu@anl.gov
Nuclear Energy
 Program Supporting
NE-1- Nuclear Energy-Cybersecurity Research Topics and Metrics Analyses Suibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Steven Hartenstein
(208) 526-1967
steven.hartenstein@inl.gov
NE-2- Integrated Energy Systems Design and Modeling
Melissa Bates
(202) 586-9620
melissa.bates@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
NE-3- Tranformational Challenge Reactor R&D
Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Sherri Buchanan
865-207-7543
buchanansl@ornl.gov

MS-NE-1- Integral Benchmarking EvaluationsDave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
John Bess
(208) 526-4375
john.bess@inl.gov
MS-NE-2- Nuclear Data Needs for Nuclear Energy Applications Dave Henderson
(301) 903-9991
david.henderson@nuclear.energy.gov
Brad Rearden
(865) 574-6085
reardenb@ornl.gov
MS-NE-3- Mission Supporting Grand Challenge TBD
 Jon Carmack
(208) 526-5424
jon.carmack@inl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Enabling Technologies (NEET)
NEET-1- Advanced Methods for ManufacturingTansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Isabella Van Rooyen
208-526-4199
isabella.vanrooyen@inl.gov
NEET-2- Advanced Digital Monitoring and Control Technology
 NEET-2.1- Advanced Control Systems
Suibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
 NEET-2.2- Big Data, Machine Learning, and Artificial IntelligenceSuibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
NEET-2.3- Advanced Sensors and Communication Suibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Craig Primer
(208) 526-0446
craig.primer@inl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF)
NSUF-1- Nuclear Energy-Related R&D Supported by Nuclear Science User Facilities Capabilities
NSUF-1.1- Testing of Advanced Materials for Sensors and Advanced Sensors for Nuclear ApplicationsSuibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Brenden Heidrich
(208) 526-8117
brenden.heidrich@inl.gov
​NSUF-1.2- Irradiation Testing of Materials Produced by Innovative Manufacturing Techniques Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Isabella Van Rooyen
208-526-4199
isabella.vanrooyen@inl.gov
​NSUF-1.3- Nuclear Materials Discovery and Qualification Initiative Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2- Nuclear Science User Facilities Access Only
NSUF-2.1- Core and Structural MaterialsTansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.2- Nuclear Fuel Behavior and Advanced Nuclear Fuel Development Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.3- Advanced In-Reactor Instrumentation Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.4- High Performance Computing at Idaho National Laboratory Tansel Selekler
(301) 903-2789
tansel.selekler@nuclear.energy.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
​​​​​​


​​