Skip Navigation LinksFY24_Innovations in Nuclear Student Paper Competition Awards

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​2024 Awardees

Award of Excellence ​​


​Matthew Newton
Fuel Cycle Technologies
Univeristy of Utah
Effect of Metal Chloride Impurities on Equilibrium Potential of Fe/FeCl2 in Eutectic LiCl-KCl

Aaron Huxford
Nuclear Engineering
University of Michigan
A hybrid domain overlapping method for coupling System Thermal Hydraulics and CFD codes
Nicholas McKibben
Reactor Development and Plant Optimization
Boise State University

Aerosol Jet Printing of Piezoelectric Surface Acoustic Wave Thermometer

Jonathan George
Spent Fuel Disposition
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Structural Investigation of Technetium Dibutylphosphate Species Using X-ray Absorption Fine Structure Spectroscopy

​Special Recognition

​John Acierno
Pennsylvania State University
On the role of low frequency modes in the thermal and momentum mixing in parallel plane jets

​Olivia Dale
University of Utah
Ni/NiO Reference Electrode Potential Measurements in Molten CaCl2-CaO

John Bussey
Washington State University
Examining phase separation and crystallization in glasses with X-ray nano-computed tomography 

Emma Archer

Colorado School of Mines
Investigation of f-Element Interactions with Functionalized Diamides of Phenanthroline-Based Ligands

Competition for Graduate Students Attending Minority Serving Institutions or Belonging to a Disadvantaged Community
Emily Maulden
University of Florida
Properties of iron-functionalized organoclays. Consequences for pertechnetate sequestration​

​Ilana Szlamkowicz
University of Central Florida
Structural contributions of different manganese oxide minerals on the redox transformations and proliferation of iodine

Undergraduate Competition

Spencer Doran
Oregon State University
Microstructure and micromechanical responses of bulk nanostructured high entropy alloy after heavy-ion irradiation at 500◦C