Skip Navigation LinksFY_18_RD_Technical_Program_Contacts

​​​​​​​​​​​​​2018 R&D Federal/Technical Points of Contact*




*FY18 POCs may not be the same as previous years as workscopes change year-to-year. POCs for current projects are listed on each project's quarterly report.
​​
Technical Bins & Workscopes Federal POC Technical POC
Fuel Cycle Technologies
Program Supporting
FC-1- Materials Recovery and Waste Form Development
FC-1.1- Electrochemical Separations
Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
Mark Williamson
(630) 252-9627
williamson@anl.gov
FC-1.2- Materials Recovery Jim Bresee
(301) 903-1869
james.bresee@nuclear.energy.gov
Terry Todd
(208) 526-3365
terry.todd@inl.gov
FC-1- Waste Forms Development
FC-1.3A- Off Gas Capture Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimberly.gray@hq.doe.gov
John Vienna
(509) 372-6201
john.vienna@pnnl.gov
FC-1.3B- Waste-Form Development Kimberly Gray
(301) 903-8209
kimberly.gray@hq.doe.gov
John Vienna
(509) 372-6201
john.vienna@pnnl.gov
FC-2- Advanced Fuels
FC-2.1- Benchmarking Microscale Mechanical Property Measurements
Janelle Eddins
(301) 903-2475
janelle.zamore@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Stu Maloy
(505) 667-9784
maloy@lanl.gov
FC-2.2- Advanced  Fabrication  Methods  for  Metallic  Fast  Reactor  Fuels
Janelle Eddins
(301) 903-2475
janelle.zamore@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Steve Hayes
(208) 526-7255
steven.hayes@inl.gov
FC-2.3- Damage and Failure Mechanisms for SiC/SiC Composite Fuel Cladding and Mitigation Technologies
Frank Goldner
(301) 903-3346
frank.goldner@nuclear.energy.gov
 
Yutai Katoh
(865) 576-5996
katohy@ornl.gov
FC-3- Advanced Data Integration for Domestic Nuclear Safeguards 

Dan Vega
(202) 586-0235
dan.vega@nuclear.energy.gov
Mike Miller
(208) 526-2813
mike.miller@inl.gov​
FC-4- Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition
FC-4.1 - Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition: Disposal
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
Peter Swift
(505) 284-4817
pnswift@sandia.gov
FC-4.2 - Used Nuclear Fuel Disposition: Storage and Transportation
John Orchard
(702) 295-2395
john.orchard@nuclear.energy.gov
Peter Swift
(505) 284-4817
pnswift@sandia.gov
Mission Supporting
MS-FC-1- Fuel Cycle R&D Bill McCaughey
(301) 903-3787
bill.mccaughey@nuclear.energy.gov
Jack Law
(208) 526-3382
jack.law@inl.gov
Nuclear Reactor Technologies
Program Supporting
RC-1- Materials for Advanced Reactor Technologies
RC-1.1- Down-selection of Cladding Materials for Structural Components in Liquid-Fueled Molten Salt Reactors
Sue Lesica
(301) 903-8755
sue.lesica@nuclear.energy.gov
Sam Sham
(630) 252-7873
ssham@anl.gov
RC-1.2- Innovative New Alloys for Molten Salt Reactor Structural ApplicationsSue Lesica
(301) 903-8755
sue.lesica@nuclear.energy.gov
Sam Sham
(630) 252-7873
ssham@anl.gov
RC-1.3- Oxidation Behavior in HTGR TRISO Fuel Materials Madeline Feltus
(301) 903-2308
madeline.feltus@nuclear.energy.gov
 Paul Demkowicz
(208) 526-3846
paul.demkowica@inl.gov
RC-2- Salt Behavior in Molten Salt Reactors
RC-2.1- Predicting the CHemical Speciation, Structure, and Dynamics of Salts Solutions for Molten Salt Reactors

Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov

David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-2.2- Development of Molten Salt Reactor Fuel Salt Irradiation Capabilities Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-2.3- Understanding the Structure and Speciation of Molten Salt at the Atomic and Molecular Scale Stephen Kung
(301) 903-8074
stephen.kung@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-3- Experimental Investigation of Radioisotope Retention Capability of Liquid Metal Coolants (Sodium and Lead) Thomas Sowinski
(301) 903-0112
​thomas.sowinski@nuclear.energy.gov
Tanju Sofu
(630) 252-9673
tsofu@anl.gov
RC-4- Advanced Reactor Development
RC-4.1- High Temperature Gas Reactors (HTGR) Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
Hans Gougar
(208) 526-1314
hans.gougar@inl.gov
RC-4.2- Fluoride Salt Cooled High Temperature Reactors Diana Li
(301) 903-1503
diana.li@nuclear.energy.gov
David Holcomb
(865) 576-7889
holcombde@ornl.gov
RC-5- Data Science and Big Data Analytics to Improve Nuclear Power Plant Efficiency
Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Hallbert
(208) 526-9867
bruce.hallbert@inl.gov
RC-6- Evaluation of Potential Improvements to Risk and Economics Resulting from Accident Tolerant Plant Designs Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Curtis Smith
(208) 526-9804
curtis.smith@inl.gov
RC-7- Innovative Methods for Increasing Passive Safety Response for Existing Plants Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Mitch Farmer
(630) 252-4539
farmer@anl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation (NEAMS)
NEAMS-1.1- Atomistic And Mesoscale Modeling And Simulation Of Nuclear Fuels, Cladding, And Reactor Structural Materials Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Steve Hayes
(208) 526-7255
steven.hayes@inl.gov
NEAMS-1.2- Macroscale Fuel Performance Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Steve Hayes
(208) 526-7255
steven.hayes@inl.gov
NEAMS-1.3- Core Neutronics Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Tanju Sofu
(630) 252-9673
tsofu@anl.gov
NEAMS-1.4- Thermal Hydraulics Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Elia Merzari
(773) 256-7044
emerzari@anl.gov
NEAMS-1.5- Integration and Demonstration Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Brad Rearden
(865) 574-6085
reardenb@ornl.gov
NEAMS-1.6- Advanced Two-Phase Simulation for Light Water Reactors Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Elia Merzari
(773) 256-7044
emerzari@anl.gov
NEAMS-2- Separate Effects Irradiation Testing for Validation of Microstructural Models in Marmot Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Steve Hayes
(208) 526-7255
steven.hayes@inl.gov
Nuclear Energy
 Program Supporting
NE-1- Nuclear Energy-Cybersecurity Research Topics and Metrics Analyses Trevor Cook
(301) 903-7046
trevor.cook@nuclear.energy.gov
Steven Hartenstein
(208) 526-1967
steven.hartenstein@inl.gov
NE-2- Hybrid Energy Systems Design and Modeling Carl Sink
(301) 903-5131
carl.sink@nuclear.energy.gov
Shannon Bragg-Sitton
(208) 526-2367
shannon.bragg-sitton@inl.gov
Mission Supporting
MS-NE-1- Integral Benchmarking Evaluations Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
John Bess
(208) 526-4375
john.bess@inl.gov
MS-NE-2- Nuclear Data Needs for Nuclear Energy Applications Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Brad Rearden
(865) 574-6085
reardenb@ornl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Energy Enabling Technologies (NEET)
NEET-1- Advanced Methods for Manufacturing Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Landrey
(503) 715-7900
brucel@landreyco.com
NEET-2- Advanced Digital Monitoring and Control Technology Suibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Hallbert
(208) 526-9867
bruce.hallbert@inl.gov
Program Supporting: Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF)
NSUF-1- Nuclear Energy-Related R&D Supported by Nuclear Science User Facilities Capabilities Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-1.1- Testing of Advanced Materials or Advanced Sensors for Nuclear ApplicationsSuibel Schuppner
(301) 903-1652
suibel.schuppner@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Hallbert
(208) 526-9867
bruce.hallbert@inl.gov
​NSUF-1.2- Irradiation Testing of Materials Produced by Innovative Manufacturing Techniques Alison Hahn
(301) 903-5049
alison.hahn@nuclear.energy.gov
Bruce Landrey
(503) 715-7900
brucel@landreyco.com
NSUF-2-Nuclear Science User Facilities Access Only
NSUF-2.1- Core and Structural MaterialsDan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.2- Nuclear Fuel Behavior and Advanced Nuclear Fuel Development Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.3- Advanced In-Reactor Instrumentation Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
NSUF-2.4- Experiments with Synchrotron Radiation Dan Funk
(301) 903-3845
dan.funk@hq.doe.gov
Rory Kennedy
(208) 526-5522
rory.kennedy@inl.gov
​​​​​​


​​