Skip Navigation LinksInnovations in Nuclear 2015 Winners


2015 Awardees

Open Competition

​Advanced Fuels
Stephen Raiman
First Place
University of Michigan
A Facility for Studying Irradiation Accelerated
Corrosion in High Temperature Water

Andrew Dykhuis

Second Place
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
HOGNOSE: A New Model for
Corrosion in PWRs​​


​​Energy Policy

Urairisa Phathanapirom

Frist Place
University of Texas at Austin
Hedging Against Uncertainty
in the Nuclear Fuel Cyle

Andrea Gardiner

Second Place
Vanderbilt University
Development and Testing of a Decision Framework
and Decision Tool for Determining Fuel Cycle Preferences​


​Material Protection, Control, and Accountancy

Devin Rappleye

First Place
University of Utah
Simulated Response of ElectrochemicalSensors
for Monitoring Molten-Salt Fueled Reactors

Matthew Marcath

Second Place
University of Michigan
An Implicit Correlation Method for Cross-Correlation
Sampling, with MCNPX-PoliMi Validation​


​Material Recovery and Waste Form Development

Daniel Griffin

First Place
Georgia Institute of Technology
Controlled Crystallization of Salts
from Nuclear Waste Solutions

Kimberly Mullane

Second Place
University of Pennsylvania
Anomalous One-electron Processes in the
Chemistry of Uranium Nitrogen Multiple Bonds​


​Nuclear Science and Engineering

William Boyd

First Place
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
The OpenMOC Method of Characteristics
Neutral Particle Transport Code

Jonathan Wormald

Second Place
North Carolina State University
Examination of the Impact of Electron-Phonon
Coupling on Fission Enhanced Diffusion in
Uranium Dioxide Using Classical Molecular Dynamics​


​Used Fuel Disposition

Elizabeth Pedrick

First Place
University of California at Santa Barbara
Reductive Silylation of a Uranyl Dibenzoylmethanate
Complex: An Example of Controlled
Uranyl Oxo Ligand Cleavage

Remy Devoe

Second Place
University of Tennessee
COBRA-SFS Dry Cask Modeling
Sensitivities in High-Capacity Canisters​


Competition for Students Who Attend Universities with Less Than $600 Million in 2012 Science and Engineering R&D Expenditures

Samantha Cary
Florida State University

Emergence of Californium as the Second 
Transitional Element in the Actinide Series​​

Charles Folsom
Utah State University
Experimental Measurement and Numerical 
Modeling of the Effective Thermal Conductivity ​

Christopher Morrison
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Feasibility Study of Solid Matrix 

Fuels for Space Power Reactors​


Ryan Collette
Colorado School of Mines 

Automated Characterization of Uranium
Molybdenum Fuel Microstructures ​​


Elizabeth Krahn
Washington State University
Probing Ligand Exchange Kinetics in Actinide/Lanthanide
Solvent Extraction Systems using NMR Spectrometry​


Undergraduate Competition


Amanda Lewis

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Data Analysis for Neutron CaptureMeasurements
in Lead Slowing Down Spectrometer​