Skip Navigation LinksHome

Picture Size
infrastructure.jpginfrastructure1200 x 800169 KB 8/19/2015 2:16 PM
IRP.jpgIRP700 x 46784 KB 8/19/2015 2:16 PM
randd.JPGrandd1200 x 800209 KB 8/19/2015 2:16 PM
studented.JPGstudented1200 x 801170 KB 8/19/2015 2:17 PM
January 29, 2016

The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Nuclear Energy and Environmental Management ​has released an FOA that will establish DOE-sponsored Institution of High Education (IHE)-led traineeships as a mechanism for graduate-level training critical to DOE mission-driven workforce needs. This will be accomplished through a focused academic graduate program that delivers unique, innovative curriculum, coupled with a rigorous thesis or dissertation research requirement in the area of radiochemistry. The total Government funding available for any single award under this FOA shall not exceed $3 million over five (5) years, subject to availability of funds.

Applications are due March 28, 2016. 

DOE Traineeship in Nuclear Radiochemistry (DE-FOA-0001369)

A copy of the application package can be found at

1/29/2016 8:30 AM
January 21, 2016

The purpose of the amendment includes the following updates:

  • Update NSUF workscope areas as Program Supporting Areas.
  • Remove the requirement for Certifications and Assurances and budget documents for applications in the NEET-NSUF-2 workscope.

1/21/2016 12:00 AM
January 12, 2016

​DOE is seeking information, comments, feedback, and recommendations from interested parties on:

1) Future work scope areas for the major NE-funded research programs in the following areas:

  • Fuel Cycle Research and Development
  • Reactor Concepts Research, Development and Demonstration
  • Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation
  • Nuclear Energy Enabling Technologies Crosscutting Technology Development.

2) Needed capabilities supporting research, training and technology demonstration.

3) High priority nuclear energy-related infrastructure needs including information on the potential benefit, location, funding model, and feasibility of establishing, maintaining, and operating such facilities.​

Request for Information- Research and Development Work Scope Development (DE-SOL-0008246)

Request for Information- Potential Infrastructure Investments (DE-SOL-0008318)

Submit a Response

1/12/2016 12:00 PM
December 23, 2015

Applicants to the FY 2016 CINR FOA (DE-FOA-0001281, Amendment 000002) have been notified and is now open to receive full applications.

Projects from 62 U.S. universities and 10 research institutions were selected from pre-applications submitted by 102 U.S. universities and 14 research institutions based on their relevancy to the NE mission and their scientific and technical merit. The applications specifically focused on areas such as: fuel cycle research and development; reactor concepts research, development, and demonstration; as well as advanced modeling and simulation.

Full applications are due on February 18, 2016. NE anticipates notifying applicants selected for award by June 2016, with awards starting in October 2016.​

FY 2016 Consolidated Innovative Nuclear Research FOA (DE-FOA-0001281, Amendment 2)

Submit an Application

12/23/2015 12:00 AM
December 22, 2015

​The Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Nuclear Energy (NE) today announced two new Requests for Applications (RFAs) for the Integrated University Program (IUP) seeking applicants for undergraduate scholarships and graduate-level fellowships in nuclear energy-related fields.

Scholarships are $7,500 for one year. The maximum award for a fellowship is $50,000 per year for three years, with an additional one time $5,000 allotment to fund a minimum 10-week internship at DOE, a DOE national laboratory or other designated facility.

Applications are due on February 10, 2016, and must be submitted using the online submittal system found at NE intends to notify award recipients in April 2016.

Click here to submit an application.

FY 2016 Scholarship RFA​

FY 2016 Fellowship RFA​

12/22/2015 9:30 AM
August 26, 2015

Materials from the FY 2016 DOE-NE Webinar are now available on PIs can access video recordings of the presentations through a playlist style video player. Use the menu icon in the upper left hand c​orner of the video player to select a specific workscope area.

Please be aware of the upcoming deadlines for application submittals:

NSUF Letters of Intent: August 27, 2015

Pre-applications: September 17, 2015 (not needed for MS-EM-1 and IRPs)
Infrastructure: November 20, 2015

Integrated Research Project applications: December 3, 2015

FY 2016 DOE-NE Webinar Presentations

FY 2016 Consolidated Innovative Nuclear Research FOA (DE-FOA-0001281, Amendment 2)

FY 2016 Consolidated Scientific Infrastructure FOA (DE-FOA-0001282)

Submit an Application

Additional Resources

FY 2016 CINR Eligibility Flowchart

FY 2015 NEET Project Summaries​

8/26/2015 2:20 PM